Bold Lips: 5 Ways

10 comments
Beauty

When you wear a bold lip, the rest of your makeup is equally important because you want to make sure it is complimenting the lip color rather than distracting from it.
The idea is simple; if you want to draw attention to one area, play it up, and tone down the rest. In order to do this, simplify as much as you can.

Start with a nice, smooth base to detract from any redness the lipcolor might bring out in your cheeks, nose, around your mouth, and on any blemishes.
IMG_9370(2) IMG_9374(2)

To bring color back into your face, make sure you use a nice bronzer and a fluffy brush and lightly buff it into the hollows of your cheeks, the temples of your forehead, and underneath your jaw line.IMG_9381(2)  IMG_9393(2)

Next, moisturize your lips to prep them for the color you’ll use later. Applying a lip balm this early on is a good idea, just to make sure all the product has time to sink in, and therefore won’t interfere with the formula of the lip product.

IMG_9387(2)

Next, apply your favorite blush. I chose a neutral rosy pink from my La Femme palette that I knew wouldn’t clash with the lip color I chose, but you can chose whatever suits your skin tone best.

IMG_9415(2)

Apply the blush right above the bronzer, making sure not to bring it too far towards your nose. You want to look lightly flushed, not red-faced.

IMG_9421(2) IMG_9423(2)

And, of course- highlighter. This one by The Balm is my favorite. Apply highlighter on the tops of your cheekbones, underneath your brow bone, down your nose, and onto your cupid’s bow to brighten up your face and give it a dewy finish.IMG_9431(2)

Don’t forget your eyebrows! Even if you have thick eyebrows, filling them in will do wonders for framing your face.

IMG_9438(2)

To keep the eyes simple and neutral, I simply applied a cream shadow (Bad to the Bronze by Maybelline) and blended it out with my fingers.

IMG_9440(2) IMG_9446(2)

Curl your lashes, apply your favorite mascara, and you’re good to go! Now, just pick out your lip color!

On the more neutral-end of the bold lip spectrum, we have this berry balm-like lipstick called “Peony.” This one is a good choice for newbies or for occasions where you don’t want to wear a nude, but don’t want to draw too much attention to yourself, either.
IMG_9464(2) IMG_9478(2) IMG_9485(2)

And then, of course, there’s the classic red. The one I’m using is Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Butter in “Candy Apple.”IMG_9495(2) IMG_9506(2) IMG_9530(2)

For you bolder ladies out there, I’ve included this super dark, vampy lip. Here I’m using MAC’s lipliner in Plum to outline and then fill in my lips.

IMG_9551(2) IMG_9560(2) IMG_9594(2)

For a super dark, matte finish, you can leave the pencil as is.

Or, for a more wearable option, you can top the liner with a hot pink cream stain. Here, I chose Makeup Forever Aqua Rouge Lipstain in #16.

IMG_9634(2)

To top it all off, you can apply a clear lipgloss like I did below, or you can leave it matte.

IMG_9672(2)

And there you have it! These are my tips and tricks for rocking bold lips.Which way was your favorite? Let me know in the comments below!
❤ Aleya

Posted by

Professional makeup artist, fashion enthusiast, Instagram obsessed.

10 thoughts on “Bold Lips: 5 Ways”

  1. Like, like, like 5,000x over! Great way to show bold lips. You chose wonderful colors for your skin tone and I really like the bronzer you used too! I haven’t used Milani yet…
    Do you see any of these becoming a daily look for you?

    • Thank you! It’s taken a lot of trial and error to find the best colors for my skin tone, but it’s paid off! Makeup is so much fun. 😉
      I love that Milani bronzer! I would definitely recommend it.

      And that’s a good question! I don’t know. I could definitely see myself going bolder more often, but I don’t think I would do it daily. I’m more of a simple makeup kind of girl. Although, I have been wearing that red a lot lately.

      What’s your daily makeup look?
      Thanks for the comment!
      ❤ Aleya

      • I’m not sure I really have a daily makeup look. My “mommy” uniform has me go days on end without wearing any, even though I’m only 22. LOL Plus, when I do decide to do makeup, I like to switch it up a lot. It’s too much fun to stick to the same thing every day.

        Right now, I’m really into the 90’s comeback look. Like, Kylie Jenner’s go-to but, I’m not sure if I could pull it off 24/7.

      • I understand that! I like to switch it up too!
        The 90s combeback style is really fun too, but I have to admit I’m not a big fan of chokers and overalls. If you can pull it off, more power to you! Haha

        Lately I’ve been really into the vintage/modern mash-up, and pairing unexpected pieces together.:)

      • Lol I meant more of the makeup. Lots of bronzer, matte eye makeup, and a reddish mocha lip. Overalls aren’t my thing either!! Haha

        I’m also very vintage + modern inspired, when it comes to clothes and home decor. Right now though, I’m pregnant so, I’ll pretty much rock anything that fits!

      • Haha!! Well then I completely agree!

        I can’t wait to decorate my own house! Hopefully it won’t be too long now- my boyfriend has been talking a lot about marriage lately. 😉

        Congratulations on your pregnancy! Kids are awesome. I have 8 siblings, 7 nieces, and 2 nephews, sooo, I’m surrounded by little people often. 🙂

      • Hey do have an email contact for your blog? I’d love to contact you about guest blogging

Leave a Reply

